top of page

"Nice Girls Still Don't Get the Corner Office": Self-Assessment

In reading the revised and updated version of Louis P. Frankel's "Nice Girls Don't Get the Corner Office," I came across a Self-Assessment that I thought should be shared via blog post. A book containing over a hundred "unconscious mistakes women make that sabotage their careers," Frankel creates awareness while outlining practical ways to empower women to stop holding themselves back.

Frankel revised and updated the original "Nice Girls Don't Get the Corner Office" book, stating that in the years since the book was published there have been many changes in the world--the United States elected its first African American president, the world was introduced to the concept of social networking, the Arab Spring deposed male rulers from nearly two dozen countries--just to name a few. She acknowledges that while there has been clear change and movement, it has been at "glacial speed" and the numbers remain largely unchanged and bleak.

Even today, women total under four percent of Fortune 500 CEOs, eight percent of worldwide top exectivues are female, women make up under twenty-four percent of US legislators, and within just a year of completing college women are earning eight percent less than the men with whom they graduated. These among other outlying statistics are the reason behind Frankel gathering more insight and real stories from women around the world to help them through a revised edition.

Frankel makes readers aware that the mistakes they are making are impeding them from reaching their career goals or potential doesn't happen because they are stupid or incompetent. Although others may want them to think that's the case, she hopes to empower her readers with the knowledge that they are simply acting in ways consistent with their socialization or in response to cultural expectations. Women don't consicously act in self-sabotaging ways, they simply act in ways consistent with their learning experiences.

The Self-Assessment is found after this introduction, a checklist to identify the specific behaviors that may impede your career (or life) movement. The list is forty-nine statements long, so I will simply name the top ten that raised my attention.

-NICE GIRLS SELF-ASSESSMENT-

[Using the scale provided, indicate the degree to which each statement is true of you. Frankel invites you to be fully honest, as this is a tool to help YOU move from a "nice girl" to a "winning woman."]

1- Rarely true or I'm not sure

2-Sometimes true

3-Usually true

4-Almost always true

1.____I prepare in advance for social events by creating a list of possible topics to discuss.

2.____I'm comfortable questioning those in authority when their expectations or request don't make sense.

3.____My elevator speech rolls off the tip of my tongue.

4.____My focus is more on adding value than on doing my job.

5.____I present my ideas as statements rather than couching them as questions.

6.____I engage in social networking via Facebook and/or LinkedIn.

7.____I capitalize on the professional relationships I make.

8.____When given critical feedback, I take it in stride rather than perseverate over it.

9.____I am powerful.

10.___It's unusual for me to apologize (*Jackpot!!*)

The awareness the list brings is too powerful not to share, but I have left off the majority of the statements outlined in the book due to length. I encourage you to find this book, complete the assessment and read what Frankel has to offer.

Frankel reminds the women reading of an A.A. Milne quote to always remember, "You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem and smarter than you think."

That you are, ladies.

xx

Mackenzie


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page