top of page

The Unapologetic Woman


Hello all my ladies!

I felt as though I have simply jumped straight into this website and blog, without much explanation of the term I coin "Unapologetic Woman."

What does this mean, anyways? What am I trying to accomplish?

The TITLE: Unapologetic Woman

The CONCEPT: A feminist-minded blog focused on identifying deep rooted social standards for women in hopes to shift them in a more progressive direction through the empowerment of other women.

MISSION STATEMENT: (We) believe that women can be the CEO and the stay at home mom, the athlete and the girly-girl, the rocket scientist and the TMZ enthusiast. We can do it all, and we are not one bit sorry. FIRST ARTICLE CONCEPTS:

  1. Interviews with successful women

  2. Tenured professors

  3. Small Business Owners

  4. Outstanding women in media/professional sports

  5. Spotlights (Locals, Larger)

  6. Athletes

  7. Valedictorians

  8. Club Presidents

  9. Lifestyle Design

  10. Health & Wellness

  11. Career Advice

  12. Beauty

  13. News

  14. Contributing Writers

  15. There will be a page on the blog where anyone can submit an article under a theme that will be presented. There will be a criteria for submissions and a topic provided. All articles submitted will be reviewed and edited before publishing. If criteria is not met, articles will not be published.

  16. StoryTellers, a series

  17. Contributing writers will have the opportunity to submit artistic articles to be published on the blog. All of the stories will be reviewed, edited and approved before publishing.

BRANDING/TAGLINES to include (plus many more!):

  1. “I’m not sorry for being a strong and confident woman.”

  2. “I’m not sorry for being intelligent and thinking for myself.”

  3. “I’m not sorry I watch ESPN on Sundays...While painting my nails."

  4. "I’m not sorry for speaking my mind in a room full of men.”

  5. “I’m not sorry that I take care of my own needs.”

  6. “I’m not sorry I kick ass at my sport (and get paid to do it)."

  7. “I’m not sorry that I’m a CEO of a major company AND have a family.”

  8. “I’m not sorry I dress for my own confidence and power and not my sex appeal.”

  9. “I’m not sorry for being powerful in my marketplace…and in my life."

  10. “I’m not sorry that you think I care too much about my diet; that does not make my vain, unprofessional or immature.”

  11. “I’m not sorry I take time out of my day to care for myself.”

  12. “I’m not sorry I don’t need to act like a man to have the same status of a man."

  13. "I'm not sorry I find inspiration in competing AND loving others."

  14. "I'm not sorry I have feelings of anxiety and stress and vulnerability at times...That does not make me any less of a woman, or human being in general. My ability to express this makes me STRONG."

BASELINE MESSAGE:

I read an article the other day from the Sakara Life Magazine featuring Cleo Wade, an artist, speaker, poet and "empower-er" as they liked to call her. She said, "It’s so important to create in groups, because whether it’s individually or collectively, to have a group of people in your life that hold space for whatever you want to be creating to come true is kind of half the battle. To hold space for someone’s daily practices to come to fruitition…that’s a really powerful energy." She talks about how back in prehistoric times, women weren’t even allowed to be grouped together in private because they would feel like they were too powerful. I agree with Cleo in stating that there is absolutely nothing more powerful than a group of women.This really stuck with me and my thoughts lately regarding this website I have created and in talking to other women and how this collaboration can really be key in women feeling this empowerment through the Long Tail medium of the online blog.

As my passion lies in aspects of health, fitness and lifestyle of women, I am going to focus articles and features on these topics and am looking forward to listening to thoughts from women everywhere in order to create and publish content as relevant, thought-provoking and empowering to all. I recognize (and have learned to love) that I don't know all the answers. I don't have the capability to move mountains or part waters. But I think that with your help, raw insight and support, your contribution is what fills the gaps and answers questions some wouldn't even think to raise. It widens our horizons and broadens the spectrums of life we never thought imaginable. That being said, no, this isn't a "health and fitness" blog. This is a YOU blog. This is a ME blog. This is a MIND, BODY & SOUL blog. This isn't even a blog.... its a conversation, an AWAKENING. This is a space of unlimited pursuit.

I want this space to be a place for women to open up, connect, recreate and live. I want them to feel safe and vulnerable at the same time. I want them to be able to share their hardships, their triumphs, their roses and thorns throughout each day--and know they are not alone. There are so many women who feel like they have to "have it all together" in order to be able to write their own blog or give someone advice. The truth is, we are all works in progress, all messy lives and all battling each moment in order to create ourselves into the best rendition of who we want to be. I want women to realize that you don't have to battle each moment, but rather live deep in the moment, give in to the moment and become one with it. I believe that true progress lies in empowering ourselves by loving ourselves in each moment, surrounding ourselves with others who love you and love them back with your whole heart. When we acknowledge that we are all beautiful and progressing beings, unable to predict our future but able to love others, only then we can realize that we are all vulnerable and in need of that loving communication. That is where the joy is. That is where our hope lies. Even today, women continue to apologize for everything they do. Let's push each other to step out of our comfort zones and realize our full potential. We don’t have to feel guilty about taking time for themselves or speaking our minds or being confident about their choices. We don't have to feel vulnerable or ashamed or threatened. But we can realize that these feelings are natural and can be waivered by empowerment and beauty and love from those around us.

Can't wait to talk, share and love on you ladies soon,

xx

Mackenzie

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page